Article from Fantasy-Faction.com

The publishers top picks for 2012 from the fantastic fantasy faction!

Here’s another look at the publishers choice for this year which should give you a quick insight into a few of the stunning titles we’ve got coming for you:

FANTASY BOOKS DUE IN 2012 – PUBLISHERS CHOICE

You’ve heard of: Gollancz, Tor, Voyager, Jo Fletcher, Solaris, Abaddon Books and Angry Robot, right? These are the publishing houses who are standing at the very forefront of our genre. Although rivals in a business sense, it is their combined dedication to bringing only the very highest level of fantasy novels to readers across our country that has seen Fantasy go from strength to strength in recent years.

When you look at how a book comes to market you come to realise the scale of what a publishing house does. Of course the writer creates the text, but the publishing house edits it, formats it, commissions cover art, decides what shelf it belongs on, picks a method to market it, negotiates with stores, organises signings and much, much more besides. What this means is that they build a huge bond with the books that they publish. When you begin meeting people within the industry you see that some of them seem to know the books as well as the authors!

Now, you may have seen Friday’s article where we looked ahead to our top 10 anticipated novels of 2012. The problem is though, we were just guessing. We haven’t seen the writing or spoken to the authors and we certainly haven’t been working busily away behind the scenes with them. Well, we know a few people who have… remember those publishing houses we mentioned earlier? Well, we approached each and every one of them and asked them: What exactly is it that you are looking forward to in 2012?

Not all of them could pick a ‘top 5′, but all of them came back with 5 titles that we as fantasy fans should watch out for. What we present to you today Fantasy Fans is without doubt the most comprehensive list of books you need to keep an eye out for. It is a list made by people who spend their days working in the industry surrounded by books. So simply; who better to tell you what you should be looking out for in 2012?

The answer of course is no one, so enjoy your read through of what publishers across the country are most looking forward to in 2012.

 

Jo-Fletcher-Books 

‘Being asked to pick just five titles in a year that is stuffed full of brand new talent is like being asked to pick three of your five siblings to go on an all-expenses-paid trip to the moon: it’s a no-win situation. So the only possible way I can do this is to focus on brand-new authors and ask enormous forgiveness for the handful who were first published last year. Without that I would have had to beg for Fletcher’s Five to become Fletcher’s Thirteen, which might have more of a creepy ring to it, but doesn’t entirely fulfil the brief. So on the understanding that just because you’re not listed here doesn’t I don’t think every book on the Jo Fletcher Books list is just as wonderful, here are Fletcher’s Five for 2012′:

Jo-Feltcher-5

IRENICON BY AIDAN HARTE – APRIL

A fabulous alternate history: Pavane meets The Sopranos, with a hefty dose of Rimbaldi artefacts from Alias, Irenicon has all the fun of Renaissance Italy, but with a sinister dark dimension.

A COLD SEASON BY ALISON LITTLEWOOD – JANUARY

Fabulous novel from debut author Alison Littlewood. A cross between Rosemary¹s Baby and Dennis Wheatley, A Cold Season contains brilliant characterisation and chilling thrills.

THE CITY’S SON BY TOM POLLOCK – JUNE

The first in The Skyscraper Throne trilogy, this is the story of a hidden London that is perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and China Mieville. Dedicated and feisty this novel will appeal to everyone from YA and beyond.

MAGE’S BLOOD BY DAVID HAIR – JULY

This is the first in The Moontide Quartet and as David Hair’s YA fiction has already won him a devoted following in Australia, he is about to woo the world with this story of a world on the brink of cataclysm.

BLOOD’S PRIDE BY EVIE MANIERI – SEPTEMBER

This is an exciting new quest fantasy containing rich world-building, strong characterisation and a robust story that twists and turns to a tragic but satisfying conclusion.

To view the full article head on over to Fantasy Faction and take a look at the top picks for 2012 from all the publishers!

Leave a Reply