On the loveliness of booksellers . . .

Traitor's BladeWe love booksellers at all times of the year, but spare a special thought for them at Christmas: they are going to spend the next 27 days rushed off their feet trying to find the perfect book for Auntie Mabel to give to Cousin Johnny’s son Knievel or for Granny to wrap for little Susie . . . and it’s not always easy.

But with booksellers like the wonderful Christina Le Galloudec, from Waterstones Oxford, on the case, we know the Christmas presents for the nation are in good hands.

And if you’re wondering why I’ve singled out Christina* this morning, it is just because I awakened to this, from Waterstones’ Blog.

And whilst I know you’ll immediately be clicking on the link, I will just tell you that Christina was one of the Waterstones booksellers asked to pick their most overlooked book of the year, and she’s chosen Traitor’s Blade. I’m obviously not chuffed at the idea that it’s been overlooked (but whilst I think all you Greatcoats out there would disagree I must admit it’s not made the top twenty, so it’s a fair point!) – but I am very happy that she notes ‘a fast, funny, and heartfelt swashbuckling fantasy debut perfect for fans of The Three Musketeers or Scott Lynch. An awesome cast of characters and a richly imagined world rounds out a story full of wit and wisdom.’

So THANK YOU, from Sebastien and me and all at JFB, for that encomium. I’m thrilled you love the book as much as we do.

Now, let me just push this pile of JFB gems your way . . .Jo sig
 

 

 

*And please believe me, Jon, Gina, Dani, Alex, &c, &c, I love each and every one of you just as much!

Leave a Reply