Publishers’ Choices for 2012

The stunning fantasy resource Fantasy Faction has put together a list of titles which the top Fantasy, Horror and Science Fiction publishers are most looking forward to in 2012. It’s a truly exciting list, including five, of course, from our own upcoming titles:

Being asked to pick just five titles in a year that is stuffed full of brand new talent is like being asked to pick three of your five siblings to go on an all-expenses-paid trip to the moon: it’s a no-win situation. So the only possible way I can do this is to focus on brand-new authors and ask enormous forgiveness for the handful who were first published last year.

Without that I would have had to beg for Fletcher’s Five to become Fletcher’s Thirteen, which might have more of a creepy ring to it, but doesn’t entirely fulfil the brief. So on the understanding that just because you’re not listed here doesn’t I don’t think every book on the Jo Fletcher Books list is just as wonderful, here are Fletcher’s Five for 2012:

IRENICON BY AIDAN HARTE – APRIL

A fabulous alternate history: Pavane meets The Sopranos, with a hefty dose of Rimbaldi artefacts from Alias, Irenicon has all the fun of Renaissance Italy, but with a sinister dark dimension.

A COLD SEASON BY ALISON LITTLEWOOD – JANUARY

Fabulous novel from debut author Alison Littlewood. A cross between Rosemary’s Baby and Dennis Wheatley, A Cold Season contains brilliant characterisation and chilling thrills.

THE CITY’S SON BY TOM POLLOCK – JUNE

The first in The Skyscraper Throne trilogy, this is the story of a hidden London that is perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and China Mieville. Dedicated and feisty this novel will appeal to everyone from YA and beyond.

MAGE’S BLOOD BY DAVID HAIR – JULY

This is the first in The Moontide Quartet and as David Hair’s YA fiction has already won him a devoted following in Australia, he is about to woo the world with this story of a world on the brink of cataclysm.

BLOOD’S PRIDE BY EVIE MANIERI – SEPTEMBER

This is an exciting new quest fantasy containing rich world-building, strong characterisation and a robust story that twists and turns to a tragic but satisfying conclusion.

So go ahead and read the full article and discover what other amazing titles there are to look forward to in 2012!

 

But we’d really like to know which upcoming titles you are most looking forward to. Post them in the comments and let us know! (Has to be A Cold Season for me, looks really exciting)

2 Comments:

  1. We are really, really excited to see what Jo Fletcher Books is going to come up with in 2011. Already read Emporer’s Knife (watch out for review soon) and recently started Irenicon… Both books prove Jo Fletcher will be storming the genre in 2012 and beyond 🙂

  2. Thank you so much we’ve got some really amazing stuff coming.

    Look forward to reading your review too!

Leave a Reply