Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Lord of Secrets

Lord of Secrets

‘Deftly plotted and great fun’ Guardian

Magic is poison. Secrets are power. Death is . . . complicated.


Outlaw wizard Corcoran Gray has enough problems. He’s friendless, penniless and on the run from the tyrannical Mages’ Guild – and with the search for his imprisoned grandfather looking hopeless, his situation can’t get much worse.

So when a fugitive drops into his lap – literally – and gets them both arrested, it’s the last straw – until Gray realises that runaway slave Brix could be the key to his grandfather’s release. All he has to do is break out of prison, break into an ancient underground temple and avoid killing himself with his own magic in the process.
In theory, it’s simple enough. But as secrets unfold and loyalties shift, Gray discovers something with the power to change the nature of life and death itself.

Now Gray must find a way to protect the people he loves, but it could cost him everything, even his soul . . .

With the humour of V.E. Schwab, the scale of Trudi Canavan and the deftness of Naomi Novik, Lord of Secrets is a heartwarming fantasy novel about saving the people you love without destroying the world (or yourself).

‘A perfect mix of traditional and new’ Charlie N. Holmberg, author of The Paper Magician

‘A fast-paced necromantic adventure’ Emily Tesh, author of Silver in the Wood

‘All I want is the next book, NOW’ K.A. Doore, author of The Perfect Assassin
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Fantasy

On Sale: 6th February 2020

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781787476257

Reviews

In a word: great! . . . A dazzling debut!
Life Has a Funny Way
Lord of Secrets is a fast-paced necromantic adventure. The characters are sharp, the dialogue is funny - and wow, Teintze can really write a monster! From the sadistic priest to the power-crazed wizard, from the delicate horrifying brilliance of her undead creations to the lurking, dreadful, beautiful monster at the heart of an ancient buried temple, I was alarmed and delighted at every turn
Emily Tesh, author of Silver in the Wood
After reading this, I felt refreshed and almost like a "faith restored" feeling for fantasy
Moon Kestrel
I loved it! It surprised me many times . . . Gray is relatable, sympathetic, and wholly likeable, and the rest of the cast was endearing. And the magic! It was a perfect mix of traditional and new. A fascinating take, really.
Charlie N. Holmberg, author of The Paper Magician
Lord of Secrets is a delightful necromantic romp through a dark and complex world with magic as boundless as it is painful, terrifying undead monstrosities, and secrets layered upon secrets which are so craftfully peeled away just in time for a bone-rattling, conclusion that all I want is the next book, NOW
K. A. Doore, author of The Perfect Assassin
Brilliantly witty and at times had me laughing out loud. I will definitely be reading the next in the series . . . This is an amazing debut and because of that I am giving it 5/5 stars. Perfect for fans of Sebatien De Castell's Greatcoats series
Crooks Books
5 out of 5
Dyslexic Reader
A clever, interesting fantasy with complex characters and I would recommend this as a good read
Storgy
Deftly plotted and great fun
The Guardian
A unique and magical book that had me hooked from the first line. I loved everything about this book and I highly recommend!
A Novel Purpose
A good old fashioned fantasy quest for a magical object and very enjoyable it was too
Mug Full of Books
A straight forward but brilliant story with fantastic characters and a protagonist that I loved
Laura Patricia Rose
I am thoroughly recommending this book! If you like queer representation, grumpy badass wizards who make clever friends despite themselves, puzzles and traps and riddles and necromancy all tangled up together into a big old ball of deadly fun, then give Lord of Secrets a try
Dear Geek Place
I greatly enjoyed this book and would recommend it
Blue Book Balloon
A special kind of magic - a potion of revenge and redemption, a cocktail of sweet and sour and spicy, a spell of understanding, forgiveness and love, a curse of beginnings and ends
Cover to Cover
Rich and satisfying . . . Teintze has concocted a fascinating world, with clever twists and loops to her plotting as well as a range of believable (and deeply likeable) characters
SFX