We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Ascendant's Rite

ebook / ISBN-13: 9781784290382

Price: £12.99

ON SALE: 5th November 2015

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Fantasy

Love. Betray. Fight. Ascend. In the much-anticipated conclusion to The Moontide Quartet, the fate of Urte will be decided on the mighty Leviathan Bridge.

‘Recommended for fans of George R.R. Martin, Brandon Sanderson, and Patrick Rothfuss’ Monster Librarian

Emperor Constant is finally ready to conquer the world.

As Alaron and Ramita struggle to recover the key to the Ascendants’ magic as well as one of Ramita’s infant sons, Queen Cera must fight to take the reins of power and Seth Korion’s Lost Legions desperately search for safety while trapped between two massive armies.

The time has come for the Rite of Ascendancy to be performed, and for new powers to rise to save – or damn – Urte.

The Moontide is ending.

‘Modern epic fantasy at its best’ – Fantasy Book Critic

Reviews

The sense of chaos, endless politicking between factions and urge by characters to make sense out of events beyond their control is palpable as the pace becomes more and more frantic
upcoming4.me on Unholy War
The author has managed to bring about a mirror to the complex and fascinating historical conflicts that occurred during the middle ages and gives it a drastic mystical kick . . . This is the first volume in a tremendously exciting series and one, which I'll be following with great interest in the next few years
Fantasy Book Critic on Mage's Blood
Hair tells his story with aplomb in clear and concise prose . . . one of the better epic fantasy series first installments I've read in recent years
Staffer's Book Review on Mage's Blood
The Moontide Quartet has everything I am looking for when I want a truly epic feel . . . proves that fantasy can have a basis in mediaeval ideas and still remember to give a role to women and non-white cultures
Fantasy Review Barn
A fantastic epic fantasy series with a great cast, immersive world, and fascinating system of magic that builds to a stunning several-hundred page conclusion in the vein of Steven Erikson . . . Read. This. Series
A Bitter Draft on The Moontide Quartet
Modern epic fantasy at its best
Fantasy Book Critic on Scarlet Tides
Readers of epic fantasy should definitely check out this series. 4.5/5
Bibliosanctum on The Moontide Quartet
'This is one of those books that is so epic, that gets you so involved and is such an investment in time and emotion, that there is a little sting of regret that the ending had to come at all and you immediately want to go back to the beginning and see how much riper it is second time around
British Fantasy Society on Mage's Blood
Makes for an outstanding start to a series which promises to recall epic fantasy's finest. In more ways than one, this book could be huge - an honour I dare say David Hair deserves
Tor.com on Mage's Blood
Fans of Game of Thrones will delight in the existence of this different-yet-similar fantasy series
New Myths on The Moontide Quartet
There's a little something for everyone here - conspiracies, political backstabbing, high magic, swordplay, a smattering of romance, and more . . . Recommended for fans of George R.R. Martin, Brandon Sanderson, and Patrick Rothfuss
Monster Librarian on Mage's Blood
Hair's first foray into adult fantasy is similar in scope to George R.R. Martin's 'Ice and Fire' and Robert Jordan's 'Wheel of Time' novels and is sure to please those authors' many fans
Library Journal Starred Review on Mage's Blood
Hair portrays a stark and beautiful world breaking apart, with both good and evil characters desperate to reshape it through magic, war, and treachery. This strong debut should draw in fantasy readers of all stripes
Publishers Weekly on Mage's Blood
Mage's Blood is an immense, complicated, blood-soaked fantasy epic . . . reminiscent of Robert Jordan's excellent Wheel of Time series . . .The scale is similar and impressive, and Hair's ability to bring together multiple plot lines is genuinely impressive.
Fanboy Comics on Mage's Blood
'A complex world populated by a rich and diverse cast of characters . . . There's a little something for everyone here - conspiracies, political backstabbing, high magic, swordplay, a smattering of romance, and more . . .Recommended for fans of George R.R. Martin, Brandon Sanderson and Patrick Rothfuss
Monster Librarian
A worthy end to a remarkable series
SFFANZ
What a way to finish this amazing series! A fantastic final instalment to this series
Taleinferno.com
The Moontide Quartet has everything I am looking for when I want a truly epic feel
Fantasy Review Barn
Readers of epic fantasy should definitely check out this series
Bibliosanctum on the Moontide Quartet
Represents modern epic fantasy at its best
Fantasy Book Critic on the Moontide Quartet
The sense of chaos, endless politicking between factions and urge by characters to make sense out of events beyond their control is palpable as the pace becomes more and more frantic
Upcoming4.me on the Moontide Quartet
The writing is crisp, the characters full of vigour and desires which when they become banded together really gives the story something to focus upon as the bonds grow stronger
Falcata Times on the Moontide Quartet
True epic fantasy. It has everything a fan could want - detailed magic, good characters and evil characters (of both genders) and some in between, a compelling plot, and twists aplenty
A Bitter Draft
The Moontide Quartet is perhaps the most understated fantasy series currently being written. It features a wide, diverse cast of characters spread out over dual continents. Focusing on a clash of civilisations storyline, David Hair offers a tale that encapsulates epic fantasy to its entirety
Fantasy Book Critic, The Year’s Top Ten
I continue to be impressed by the way Hair takes some very familiar, almost trite, ideas and spins them in a new way. Epic fantasy is not dying, my friends, it is just moving in new directions
Fantasy Review Barn
What an incredible series. The layers of complexity in each character, chapter, culture and more was so fascinating right from the beginning. The way I was transported between the two continents and their beliefs and perspectives was breathtaking
Taleinforno.com
One of the best examples, in recent memory, of epic fantasy
Novelnaut
This is a series I cannot recommend enough
C.E. Tracy
Amazing "The Moontide Quartet" epic fantasy series. I'll not reveal all the details and plots, you'll just need to read these books. It will make you turn pages in a speed of desert storm
Dejan Delic, Deviant Art

The Moontide Quartet