Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Foundryside

Foundryside

‘The exciting beginning of a promising new epic fantasy series. Prepare for ancient mysteries, innovative magic, and heart-pounding heists’ Brandon Sanderson, New York Times bestselling author of Oathbringer

She thought it was just another job. But her discovery could bring the city to its knees . . .

The city of Tevanne runs on scrivings, industrialised magical inscriptions that make inanimate objects sentient; they power everything, from walls to wheels to weapons. Scrivings have brought enormous progress and enormous wealth – but only to the four merchant Houses who control them. Everyone else is a servant or slave, or they eke a precarious living in the hellhole called the Commons.

There’s not much in the way of work for an escaped slave like Sancia Grado, but she has an unnatural talent that makes her one of the best thieves in the city. When she’s offered a lucrative job to steal an ancient artefact from a heavily guarded warehouse, Sancia agrees, dreaming of leaving the Commons – but instead, she finds herself the target of a murderous conspiracy. Someone powerful in Tevanne wants the artefact, and Sancia dead – and whoever it is already wields power beyond imagining.

Sancia will need every ally, and every ounce of wits at her disposal, if she is to survive – because if her enemy gets the artefact and unlocks its secrets, thousands will die, and, even worse, it will allow ancient evils back into the world and turn their city into a devastated battleground.

Robert Jackson Bennett deserves a huge audience’ Brent Weeks

‘An altogether terrific read’ Sebastien de Castell

Intricate worldbuilding, fascinating magic, and engaging characters. More please!’ Felicia Day

Inventive, immersive, and thrilling . . . Do yourself a favor and pick this up!’ Kevin Hearne
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Fantasy

On Sale: 1st November 2018

Price: £19.99

ISBN-13: 9781529400755

Reviews

Does [City of Blades] live up to the Locus, World Fantasy, British Fantasy and GoodReads Choice Awards-nominated City of Stairs? Allow me to answer with an emphatic yes . . . Robert Jackson Bennett is one of the most talented authors writing in SFF today and this is his finest work to date
Fantasy-Faction on City of Blades
Robert Jackson Bennett deserves a huge audience
Brent Weeks, New York Times Bestselling Author of The Black Prism on City of Stairs
As a whole The Divine Cities is simply that, Divine
SFFWorld on the Divine Cities trilogy
Richly detailed and expertly plotted. A grand entertainment
Kirkus on City of Blades
The exciting beginning of a promising new epic fantasy series. Prepare for ancient mysteries, innovative magic, and heart-pounding heists
Brandon Sanderson, New York Times bestselling author of Oathbringer
In Foundryside, scriving magic is the cheat code to reality, and Bennett is a master gamer. A refreshing look at magic - featuring a heroine every reader will root for - from one of the smartest writers I know
Peter V. Brett, New York Times bestselling author of The Demon Cycle
Inventive, immersive, and thrilling, Foundryside is a fascinating look at how our best intentions can be corrupted - and how wickedly awesome and terrifying gravity belts can be. Do yourself a favor and pick this up
Kevin Hearne, New York Times bestselling author of The Iron Druid Chronicles
Intricate worldbuilding, fascinating magic, and engaging characters. More please!
Felicia Day, New York Times bestselling author of You’re Never Weird on the Internet (Almost)
Fast-paced, intelligent, and fun with a fantastically cool magic system. I can't wait to read the next one
Brian McClellan, author of The Powder Mage trilogy
Foundryside pulls you in with fast-paced heists, then knocks you down with its innovative magic system. Fun, thoughtful, and thrilling from cover to cover, it's sword-and-sorcery meets computer programming - a must for fans of Scott Lynch and Brandon Sanderson
James L. Sutter, co-creator of the Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
An irresistible, fast-paced adventure that welcomes even non-fantasy fans into its pages, unveiling a remarkable and sophisticated world of magic and intrigue. With non-stop twists, a compelling cast of characters, and an innovative magic system, Foundryside is an altogether terrific read
Sebastian de Castell, author of The Greatcoats series
Bennett spins a marvelous tale reminiscent of Sanderson. Foundryside is a gripping story with clever characters, intriguing plot, and spectacular worldbuilding
Charlie Holmberg, author of The Paper Magician series
Complex characters, magic that is tech and vice versa, a world bound by warring trade dynasties: Bennett will leave you in awe once you remember to breathe!
Tamora Pierce, New York Times bestselling author of Tempests and Slaughter
The best epic fantasy of the year is also the best cyberpunk of the year. How often do you get to say that?
Dan Wells, author of I Am Not a Serial Killer
Foundryside will not disappoint. It's a world like no other, a concept like no other and a read like no other
The Book Bag
A compelling treatise on power and its misuse
Eric Brown, Guardian
Brings an intricate, sciencey magic system to the crime party . . . The action is energising, the story is self-contained, and the world is made of pure, gleeful imagination
SFX
Take a healthy slug of Scott Lynch's The Lies of Locke Lamora, add in the whip-smart dialogue of Jay Kristoff's Nevernight and sprinkle it with just a dash of China Mieville . . . Robert Jackson Bennett has given us a cracking adventure . . . Very highly recommended
Espresso Coco
I struggled to find another book that thrilled me as much
Terror Tree
This book featured prominently on my most anticipated releases list and I am happy to report that I enjoyed it a whole lot . . . What Bennett does best is creating these really unique worlds that feel lived in and plausible
I Have Thoughts on Books
One of my most-anticipated books of the year
Civilian Reader
A very good action-packed, cleverly written and thought out book that every fantasy lover should read
Breathing Through Pages
Epic fantasy at its magical, action fuelled best
Liz Loves Books
An exciting, believable world and a plot full of twists . . . I'm looking forward to seeing what the second book in the series has in store
The Book Bundle
Beyond the wonderful world-building, characters, and social commentary, there is also the undeniable fact that Foundryside is just damn fun . . . Bennett weaves an incredibly gripping plot that makes it hard to put the book down
A Fantastical Librarian
An amazing story combining some absolute fan favourites: daring heists, characters with a lot of depth, witty dialogue, a hint of steampunk, a dash of magic and a mysterious history to uncover . . . Believe all the rave reviews and the hype, this is one hell of a book and will go on many 'Best of' and 'Favourite' lists.
Draumr Kopa
I loved every minute of this book . . . Foundryside is a fantastic start to this series and I'm already desperately waiting for the next instalment
Feeling Fictional
Fantasy buffs will enjoy all the key ingredients of the genre, along with a good helping of magic and a story that picks up pace till it's running
Sunday Sport
Funny, exciting, pacy and gory, this terrific debut promises greater things to come
Daily Mail
I couldn't stop reading. The mysteries deepened, the characters deepened, the villains emerged from the shadows, and the stakes got higher and higher . . . Really, it's everything you could want from an Epic Fantasy
Fantasy Hive
Foundryside is a superb series-starter and another magnificent creation from the masterful mind of Robert Jackson Bennett. Like all good beginnings, it promises to bring his readers even more adventure and glorious excitement in future volumes, and the rest of this series is a journey I can't wait to experience
Bibliosanctum
Fantastically constructed and phenomenally executed
The Bookbag
A thoroughly enjoyable romp . . . A very original fantasy
SFCrowsnest
Foundryside was a fantastic beginning to a new trilogy, one that I immensely struggled to put down . . . I absolutely recommend this book to anyone who's looking for a fantasy with wonderful characterizations, fascinating premise, intricate magic system, and to all the fans of Brandon Sanderson and Robert Jackson Bennett books
Novel Notions
Beg, steal or scrive to get your hands on a copy, because it's certainly one of the most compelling and magical series openers we've read all year
Starburst
If you like action-packed, high pace fantasy books full of adventures, this one might be your style . . . A very entertaining fantasy read
Umut Reviews
Bennett has carved out his place in the world of fantasy . . . Foundryside is a great first book for what I hope to be a long running series. All of the pieces are there for an epic story about magic, rebellion, and friendship. It definitely scratches that itch that has formed while we wait for a number of other fantasy series to continue.
Storgy
An absolutely riveting secondary world fantasy . . . I felt fully, utterly engaged by the ideas, actually in love with the core characters for their differences and the immensely generative friction between them, and in awe of Bennett's craft . . . A magnificent, mind-blowing start to a series I'm hungry for
Amar El-Mohtar, New York Times
An absolutely riveting secondary world fantasy that grounds its magic in industrialized processes, heavy machinery and capitalist dystopia . . . When I say I couldn't put "Foundryside" down, what I mean is this: I felt fully, utterly engaged by the ideas, actually in love with the core characters for their differences and the immensely generative friction between them, and in awe of Bennett's craft. I went to bed late reading it and woke up early to finish it . . . A magnificent, mind-blowing start to a series I'm hungry for
Amal El-Mohtar, New York Times