We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Gods of Jade and Shadow

Hardcover / ISBN-13: 9781529402636

Price: £16.99

ON SALE: 23rd July 2019

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

‘This is historical fantasy at its best’ S.A. Chakraborty, author of The City of Brass

Inspired by Mexican folklore, Gods of Jade and Shadow is a magical, wildly imaginative coming-of-age tale for fans of Katherine Arden, Naomi Novik and Helene Wecker.

The Jazz Age is in full swing, but Casiopea Tun is too busy scrubbing floors in her wealthy grandfather’s house to do more than dream of a life far from her small town in southern Mexico.

Until the day she accidentally frees an ancient Mayan god of death, who offers her a deal: in return for Casiopea’s help in recovering his throne, he will grant her whatever she desires.

From the jungles of Yucatán to the bright lights of Mexico City and deep into the darkness of Xibalba, the Mayan underworld, Casiopea’s adventure will take her on a perilous cross-country odyssey beyond anything she’s ever known.

Success will make her every dream come true, but failure will see her lost, for ever . . .

‘Wondrous and magical’ Kevin Hearne, author of The Iron Druid Chronicles

‘Evocative and moving’ Rebecca Roanhorse, author of Trial of Lightning

‘An adventure for the mind and the heart’ Christina Henry, author of Alice

‘A joy to read’ Genevieve Cogman, author of The Invisible Library series

A BEST BOOKS OF SUMMER 2019 PICK BY PUBLISHERS WEEKLY
ONE OF THE HOTTEST BOOKS OF SUMMER BY GOODREADS
A SUMMER 2019 B&N DISCOVER GREAT NEW WRITERS SELECTION

What's Inside

Read More Read Less