We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Witch Bottle

Witch Bottle

A deeply atmospheric literary horror novel about the nature of repressed guilt, grief and fear.

Daniel once had a baby brother, but he died, a long time ago now. And he had a wife and a daughter, but that didn’t work out, so now he’s alone. The easy monotony of his job as a milkman in the remote northwest of England demands nothing from him other than dealing with unreasonable customer demands and the vagaries of his enigmatic boss.

But things are changing. Daniel’s started having nightmares, seeing things that can’t possibly be there – like the naked, emaciated giant with a black bag over its head which is so real he swears he could touch it . . . if he dared.

It’s not just at night bad things are happening, either, or just to him. Shaken and unnerved, he opens up to a local witch. She can’t t discern the origins of his haunting, but she can provide him with a protective ward – a witch-bottle – if, in return, he will deliver her products on his rounds.

But not everyone’s happy to find people meddling with witch-bottles. Things are about to get very unpleasant . . .

Witch Bottle is literary horror at its finest, perfect for fans of Andrew Michael Hurley’s The Loney and Starve Acre.
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Graphic Novels

On Sale: 26th November 2020

Price: £18.99

ISBN-13: 9781784299675

Reviews

In my opinion Tom Fletcher is the most exciting new horror writer in years.
Mark Morris, author of The Winter Tree
Fletcher has a most distinctive voice, and convinces me that there may be some truth at last in those rumours about a renaissance in British supernatural fiction.
Lisa Tuttle, The Times
Fletcher's imagination is truly boundless
Avid Fantasy Reviews
Tom Fletcher is one of the most original and perceptive writers producing fiction in Britain today
Bookstove.com on The Thing on the Shore
Fletcher's fluid handling of his subject and the atmosphere he's imbued it with is magnificent. Thoroughly recommended.
Speculative Assessments on Gleam
A staggeringly brilliant, witty, scary and confident debut
Alan Kelly, 3 A.M. Magazine on The Leaping
Fletcher's Ravenglass invokes an overwhelming sense of claustrophobia . . . it's this gloomy sense of atmosphere with its overwhelming foreboding of something really, really nasty that's about to happen that makes The Ravenglass Eye such a compelling read
The Horror Hothouse
Fletcher excels at infusing the mundane . . . with a slow-burning sense of unease
Guardian
An acutely unsettling folk horror with a superbly unreliable narrator
Metro
Terrifying, slow-burning, exquisitely wrought
Lancashire Evening Post