Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Skyscraper Throne

The Skyscraper Throne

‘An impeccably dark parable, endlessly inventive and utterly compelling’ Mike Carey, author of The Girl with all the Gifts

Welcome to the world of the Skyscraper Throne: a hidden London that lurks just beneath the surface of the city, full of marvels, magic . . . and menace.

When seventeen-year-old graffiti artist Beth runs away from home, she doesn’t suspect that beneath our London, lies a hidden world of creatures who live off the city, nor does she expect to find Filius Viae, the Urchin, the Son of the Streets, or to drag her friend Pen along with her.

When war threatens to decimate this world Beth must decide – fight, or flee?

This omnibus edition contains The City’s Son, The Glass Republic and The Skyscraper Throne plus bonus material!
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Fantasy

On Sale: 12th February 2015

Price: £9.99

ISBN-13: 9780857055057

Reviews

Pollock's imagined London is intense and absorbing, and The City's Son is an urban fantasy in the truest sense of the word, intent on imbuing every corner of the city with life, wonder and magic
The Guardian
An impeccably dark parable, endlessly inventive and utterly compelling
Mike Carey, author of The Girl with all the Gifts
Vivid, inventive - and truly weird
Daily Mail
Gorgeously written and brimming with bizarre urban creatures, this darkly imagined and sometimes painful tale should delight fans of Neil Gaiman, China Miéville, and Holly Black
Publishers Weekly, Starred Review
Hugely inventive in his world-building . . . following in the tradition of authors like Neil Gaiman and China Miéville
SFX
From Charles Dickens to Iain Sinclair, Monica Ali to Philip Reeve, the city of London has been the central character in hundreds of great books. The City's Son, from Tom Pollock, is no exception
London Calling
Everything the genre should be . . . you need to read this book. It is intelligent, true to its genre, and the most fun thing I've read this fall
San Francisco Book Review
I can't remember the last time I enjoyed a book as much as The City's Son. Fans of Neil Gaiman's Neverwhere will definitely find things to love here; it's dark, it's gritty, it's touching, and it's deeply engrossing. I didn't want it to end
Stacia Kane, author of Unholy Ghosts
One of the most imaginative pieces of genre fiction I've ever read
Fantasy Faction
I was absolutely swept away . . . The writing is dynamic and vibrant, lyrical and bristling with intensity without being pretentious
Ann Aguirre, author of Enclave
One of speculative fiction's most promising new voices - it's such an unfettered success that the concluding volume of the Skyscraper Throne saga can't come soon enough
Tor.com
Manages to push the boundaries of imagination and innovation with every page. Beautifully written, wildly imaginative and surprisingly emotional, The Glass Republic continues an exciting new phase in urban fantasy that's being powered by one author alone
Fantasy Book Review
Five stars isn't enough ... This series has so far been a stellar example of what good YA, and good urban fantasy, should be
Over the Effing Rainbow
The entire Skyscraper Throne Trilogy [is] a series of books which has just about redefined the way Urban Fantasy should be written and which stands head and shoulders above, along [with] the other great works such as Neil Gaiman's Neverwhere
Upcoming4me
If you can, read them one after another. The result is an emotionally charged and powerful roller coaster that will both exhaust and delight you in equal measure. Our Lady of the Streets is a fine ending to a very fine series, and we can't wait to see what Tom Pollock produces next. 9 out of 10
Starburst